I Resolve…   Leave a comment

Last night, on December 31, 2006, I hung out with Peter, Jon Chang, and Corny. It was nothing big–just a few guys hanging out, eating food, and relaxing at the Santa Monica Pier. (This I was thankful for because my body was pummeled on the slopes during my first snowboarding excursion and my stomach was struggling to keep in the ten fried Oreos that I just ate.) I’m thankful that all of the boys were a bit tired, thereby leaving plenty of quiet moments to reflect on the past year and contemplate the upcoming year.

Of course, New Years Day is nothing special. It’s just another day; Sunday passed by and Monday came along. But something about the year changing numbers causes people to reflect on their past and resolve for their future. I don’t believe in making New Years resolutions, mostly because I know that I can’t keep them.

But as I was sitting on the beach, I did have a resolution. And I trust that this resolution will come into fruition because it is something that the Lord will have to work in me.

I resolve… to trust in the Lord.

This is something that has convicted me because this is something I see lived out in the life of Soumeng Lee. I consider him to be one of my spiritual heroes, although I would never tell him that since we are friends.

I resolve to trust in the Lord. In this lies the root of all my sins. Sin stems from pride, but the root of pride is unbelief. Pride tells me that I know better than God and that my way is better than His. Pride makes me desire the lusts of my sinful human nature rather than cherishing Christ’s righteous God-nature.

I resolve to trust in the Lord and I have a passage that I want to make my theme passage for the year: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:5-6).

Posted January 2, 2007 by Mitchell J. Kim in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

