He Died On The Cross, His Death Gave Me Life   Leave a comment

The bread and the blood,
A picture of Christ’s cup.
The impending suffering,
His earthly life is now up.
For as He and his men
Sat down for a meal,
He tasted His last
Til God’s kingdom’s revealed.

Nails fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow.
The life that was sinless,
Was pierced for me how.
He breathed His last breath,
And bore all of God’s strife.
He died on the cross,
His death gave me life.

He fell to His knees,
With His Father he spoke,
Remove this cup from Me,
His body was soaked,
For blood dripped from His pores.
Contemplating the cross,
He staggered a bit.
But He’d count it all loss.

Nails fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow.
The life that was sinless,
Was pierced for me how.
He breathed His last breath,
And bore all of God’s strife.
He died on the cross,
His death gave me life.

Judas approached His Lord,
And betrayed with a kiss,
How evil a heart,
An act I can’t dismiss.
The reckless young Peter,
But Christ was composed,
Prepared to bear all sins,
My sins among those.

Nails fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow.
The life that was sinless,
Was pierced for me how.
He breathed His last breath,
And bore all of God’s strife.
He died on the cross,
His death gave me life.

As the trials progressed,
Insults and lies thrown forth,
They spit on my Savior,
Not knowing His worth.
They mocked Him and beat Him,
Before Pilate’s grand court,
“What’s He done?” asked Pilate.
“Crucify Him!” they did retort.

Nails fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow.
The life that was sinless,
Was pierced for me how.
He breathed His last breath,
And bore all of God’s strife.
He died on the cross,
His death gave me life.

Crucify, crucify,
Let Him take His own cross.
He calls Himself God,
Come to pay for our costs.
We have sinned against God,
They mocked with much scorn.
Where is your God now?
My Christ was forlorn.

Nails fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow.
The life that was sinless,
Was pierced for me how.
He breathed His last breath,
And bore all of God’s strife.
He died on the cross,
His death gave me life.

Such sinners He’d die for,
Such scoffers He’d love,
Forgiveness He’d offer,
Grace sent down from above.
But they mocked their own God,
Hung Him on a tree.
For this purpose He came,
To die for sinners like me.

Nails fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow.
The life that was sinless,
Was pierced for me how.
He breathed His last breath,
And bore all of God’s strife.
He died on the cross,
His death gave me life.

Nails fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow,
The life that was sinless,
Was pierced for me how,
Father killed His own Son,
Pleased God to crush Christ.
What a marvelous salvation,
That bought me new life.

Nailed fit for my hands,
Thorns made for my brow.
Christ died for my sins,
If He I’d avow
As Lord of my life,
As God of my soul.
With sin I was dead,
With Christ I am whole.

Posted December 27, 2006 by Mitchell J. Kim in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

